RSS

Laura Vivien Meacham Haynes

04 Feb
PHOTO: [Laura] Vivien (Meacham) Haynes 1910
Today’s tidbit is a picture of my father’s maternal grandmother. She was the other person who infected me with a love for history and our heritage. She kept a little notebook, no bigger than 2 inches wide by 3 inches high, in which she had kept a record of various family birthdays, anniversaries, and deaths. As I began to learn more about genealogy, I would “pick her brain” and she would tell me of this one and that one, what they were like, how they had met, and what they had done in their life.

That’s how I discovered that “Grandma Haynes,” who was always called “Vivien” (or “Grandma”), had actually been named “LAURA Vivien.” It seems that several generations of folks in the Meacham clan all went by their middle names. To date, I still haven’t heard the story of why.

It was in honor of her that my parents named my little sister “Laura.”

This picture is about the time when she married Grandpa Haynes (Earl Truman Haynes DOB: 31 July 1886) in 1910. I have no idea whether this was before or after the wedding.LVMeacham Haynes 1910

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 4, 2013 in 1889, 1910, Haynes, Meacham, Photo

 

Leave a Reply

 
