RSS

Grandma Beryl

04 May

Fifteen years ago today, my wife’s grandmother, Beryl Whittemore Howell Perez, died. Two days later I had the honor of officiating for her funeral.

Beryl ~20

BORN:  12 Mar 1912 in Eldred, PA (McKean County)

DIED: 4 May 1998 in Bradford, PA  (McKean County)

FATHER: Harry Orman Whittemore (1888-1952)

MOTHER: Mabel Evelyn Bennett (1888-1953)

MARRIED: Twice: (1) 12 Jan 1934 to Clifton E. Howell (1912-1967)

(2) 23 Jun 1973 to Gusto Perez (died 1986)

 

Grandma Beryl was spunky and witty. Her mind was sharp and she was nigh unto unbeatable in Scrabble. When my wife and I announced our engagement, she sent me a card that showed a small dog on the front with these words: “When I heard the news I was so excited…” The message continued on the inside of the card: “I piddled.”

Grandma Beryl called a spade a spade, and usually had a clever word or phrase to share. 

She wasn’t a super-religious Christian, doing churchy stuff all the time nor being preachy with others. Yet she had a faith that caught me short a few times. More than once I was sharing something I thought was profound, of a spiritual nature, and she, with one well worded question, made me rethink the very point I had tried to share. She was sharp!

Rest in peace Beryl!

beryl obit

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2013 in 1912, 1934, 1967, 1986, 1998, Obituary

 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
