RSS

Crit and fish

08 May

crit & fishPHOTO: Crit after fishing

Today’s tidbit is an old picture from my wife’s family.
The writing on the back of this picture says:
“Mr. (and) Mrs. C.T. Whittemore from Mr. (and) Mrs. J.A. Winsor those fish weighed 30 lbs. apiece”
Christopher Whittemore, my wife’s great-great grandfather, was born 31 March 1844 and lived in Eldred (McKean County), PA at the time of this picture. Known as “Crit” by most folks, he married Josephine Duryea. At this point, I do not know which one was Crit, nor who the others are. I believe one of the ladies is Jo. (I do have other pictures of them where they are identified, but they are much older than here.)
BY THE WAY, I don’t know that they were IN Eldred when they caught these fish!
 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 8, 2013 in 1800s, 1844

 

Tags: , , , ,

2 responses to “Crit and fish

  1. Samuel Clemens

    June 30, 2016 at 9:46 pm

    This is such an excellent site, and a very cool picture that I will cherish and pass down to my children. I’ve always had fishing in my blood from an early age. I can’t count the amount of nights I drove out to the Cape to fish for stripers with friends or alone. Very nostalgic picture that means a lot to me. I’m going to try to have it blown up so I can frame it – thank you for sharing (Michael Whittemore – son of Mark Whittemore, grand son of Michael Lowell Whittemore.

     
  2. Samuel Clemens

    June 30, 2016 at 10:00 pm

    Speaking of which, I’d be more than willing to drive down on my way from Ohio to massachusetts sometime to have the picture “blown up” professionally. I’m sure it would be better quality than trying to blow up a lower-quality picture of a picture. If that’s a possibility, let me know. Best!

     

Leave a Reply

 
